Letters from Jordan #6

Dear Ellinor,

It is my last day of work today! Here in Jordan the weekend is Friday and Saturday instead of Saturday and Sunday. I’m happy that our work is done and tomorrow I will be visiting our friend Sana, who used to live in New York.

We were out all day today in meetings. We visited the UN office for refugees in the morning. They showed us the center where people come to register as “refugees”. There were many babies and children in the waiting room, and a man selling cotton candy outside. It made me very sad that some children are born as “refugees”, and have to come here and go through this process.

Then I went to visit Lara, a super brave and interesting Syrian woman who started her own shop called Syrian Jasmine. Everything in her shop is made by Syrian women. They make soaps, dolls, lamps, clothes… all kinds of creative things. I took many nice photos but they are on my camera and I’m too tired to move them to my computer but I bought a lot of presents at the shop :)

In the evening we went out to celebrate that we were done with our work! Here are some of my friends: Lara, Rania and Shaymoli. And Sofie and me.

That’s it for today! I’m counting down the days till I come home.

Love you so much,

Mamma

Leave a comment